Posted by: fortheloveofwine | February 5, 2008

A toast to my first blog

Wine is such an interesting topic on which write a blog.  Everyone has something to say on the subject whether they are novice explorers or professional sommeliers.  The more I study the subject of wine the more I realize it covers such a vast array of information. Grape varieties, country of origin, differences in the wine-making process and even differences in soil and climate help write the story that accompanies each bottle of wine. 

Where to start?  How about in your own backyard.  Niagara is home to many outstanding wines recognized world-wide.  With its own distinct appellation system and governing quality control board (VQA), it compares to top-notch wines from around the world.  As a young wine producing region, Niagara is still growing and testing out its own unique methods of producing wine.  The Canadian wine industry owes its international recognition to the unique production of Icewine.  Due to the consistently cold temperatures Canada experiences every year, Canada is leading Icewine production world wide.

Niagara produces much more than the sweet delicious dessert wine.  Red and white cool-climate style wines are also winning awards internationally.  Niagara is most well-known for producing superb Rieslings and Chardonnays as well as dynamic and flavourful Cabernet Francs and Gamays. 

I personally believe that some of the best wines I have tried have come from my own back door.  Niagara has lots to offer the international wine world.

,

Responses

  1. I love drinking wine, but I have to admit that I am not too knowledgeable on the subject. Before today, I didn’t know what “sommelier” meant, and now I know that it is a trained and educated wine professional (or so says Wikipedia). I look forward to reading more posts.

  2. Only one post? Come on. I’ll give you a topic to talk about then: Niagara Gewürtztraminers…go! 🙂

  3. YUMMY! Oh how I love the flow of vino through my soul. Growing up in the wine country has definitely left a soft spot in my heart for a healthy glass of wine. My dad has been working with wine my whole life but lately my knowledge of the tastiest new wines have been on the back burner. I can’t wait to see what’s up and coming on your blogs!

  4. I loooooove wine. As an Italian-Canadian wine is something that I’ve been exposed to all my life. We call the home-made stuff “rocket fuel.” I don’t know much about wine except that I enjoy it and that I understand that there is so much more to it that taste. Wine, in my life, is the center of a social network between myself, my family and my firends. I admire those who study wine and are passionate about it.

  5. Liking wine is the first step. Learning about wine is a NEVER ENDING process, but I enjoy the journey. Please let me know if you have any favourites – I love trying new wines.

  6. The wine industry should be more aggressive in targeting the younger demographic, such as students. Although the price is right, the younger generation is a huge market that needs to be educated on the different types of wine.

  7. Wine..mmmmmmmmmmmm reading your blog has made me want to go and crack open a bottle of wine..But I will wait until tomorrow at our wonderful party!!

  8. I won’t deny, I do enjoy the Niagara wines. Have you ever tried some of the Annapolis Valley wines from Nova Scotia? We aren’t know for our wine, but there are some really good wines in the Valley.


Leave a Reply

Categories

