Posted by: fortheloveofwine | February 27, 2008

Niagara Rieslings

My next posting was inspired by my recent trip to Fielding Estates Winery located on the bench in Beamsville.  My visit started out as a social call to say hello to my fellow industry mates, but seeing as I was there I thought I would revisit one of Niagara’s best wine producing varietals: Riesling. In my opinion, Fielding produces some of the finest Rieslings in the peninsula. The natural slope of the Niagara Escarpment provides excellent drainage to ensure the roots of those Riesling grapes dig deep to extract the minerals and nutrients from down low.  The slightly cooler temperatures on top of the bench keep the acid levels in Riesling nice and fresh.  Without its crispy acidity, the intense flavor of Riesling is not balanced. The sweet nuances of honeysuckle, peaches and tangerine require that bright acidity to create a refreshing balance.  The Beamsville Bench is definitely one of the appellations where Riesling shines. 

I especially like the sparkling wine Fielding produces from their Riesling grapes.  It exhibits zingy lemon character combined with hints of mineral and delicious bubbles prepared by the charmat-method, a method in sparkling-winemaking where the secondary fermentation process – when the carbon dioxide is trapped in the wine to create bubbles – happens in a pressurized tank before the carbonated product is bottled. Delish! 

Interestingly, Riesling is supposed to be one of the best grape varietals to display the differences in terroir, the philosophy of how the aspects of nature influence how a wine tastes.  Differences in soil, climate and aspect all influence the outcome of a wine and supposedly it is most distinguishable in Niagara with Riesling.  Someday I would like to sample Riesling from each sub appellation in Niagara and see if I can pick out terroir differences.  I wonder if I could use that as a business expense.  I know what you are thinking – life is tough.

Cheers to Riesling!

Responses

  1. I must admit that for a long time I thought wine was just wine.
    Now that I actually have spent some time in the Niagara Region and have visited a number of the wineries I have found a new appreciation for good wine.
    I may never know all the terms, but at least I’ll be able to taste the difference.

  2. Andrea, I am fascinated by your passion for wine! You should be a sommelier!

  3. Riesling is certainly delicious!
    I especially loved the Riesling Ice Wine from COYOTE’S RUN (props) haha

  4. Cheers to you for being a connoisseur of fine wines.
    We are very lucky to have such a vase amount of wineries in Niagara.
    Someday I hope to be able to acquire a taste for wine, any pointers on how to get started?

  5. WOW! its amazing to realize how much about wine I don’t know. I have read and heard of different factors that can play into how wine taste but I’m pretty sure that I can only learn by trying. The most I have ever learned about wine was from a wine tasting, and I intend to do more. What is the ultimate wine for you? For me so far… I’m starting to get more into reds but a dry white wine is perfect for any day.

  6. I just want to make a comment about wineries that are dedicated to celebrities. I was driving to work the other day along King Street through Beamsville, Vineland and Jordan (tons of wineries on that route) and I noticed that one of the wineries had changed its name–it is now the Wayne Gretzky winery. I guess I want to know how and why this happens…Oh, Andrea, will you shed some light on the topic for me?
    Lisa

  7. What an interesting topic. You seem to be very passionate (and knowledgable) about wine. I really hope you pair your interest in wine with your future in PR. I look forward to seeing where it takes you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

